top of page
  • Writer's picturehumansinhealthcare

Dr. Mamta Gautam

Updated: Nov 14, 2018

Dr. Mamta Gautam is recognized internationally as a Canadian medical leader and sought-after for her speciality in speaking about Physician Health and Leadership. Her practise in physician-exclusive Psychiatry has continued since 1990, coining the title, “The Doctor’s Doctor,” and she has achieved numerous awards over her career. Dr. Gautam is the Founding Director of world’s first Faculty of Medicine Wellness Program at the University of Ottawa, Founding Chair of International Alliance for Physician Health, Founding Co-Chair of the Canadian Psychiatric Association Section on Physician Health, President and CEO for PEAK MD, and much more.


"I appreciate the value of physician leadership development, as realized that both individual and system level changes are required to achieve and support physician health, and the system level initiatives would be best led by physician leaders. The stresses inherent in medicine continue to increase, and physician burnout is experienced by 1 in 2 physicians. Our patients are the reason we continue to work, and experience it as a joy.


Women in Medicine is [also] an area of special interest to me. I have helped to launch mentoring programs for women in numerous medical specialties, and worked to create policies to support and recognize women in the medical workplace.


I originally trained as a Child Psychiatrist. Little did I know when I finished my fellowship in June 1990 that I would soon be treating physician colleagues! Through word of mouth… [after being] asked to fill in as a last-minute speaker for a medical conference that September... doctors made up my entire patient population within a few months. Such a true privilege!


I once met one of my patients with her 7-year old daughter. This colleague had been very depressed when I first saw her, and we worked hard together to treat this and allow her to resume her previously high level of functioning. As they walked away, her daughter kept looking back at me. She finally let go of her mother’s hand, ran back to me, and told me “I know who you are. Thank you for giving my mother back to me.” Her words went straight to my heart… That is why I do what I do.


I will continue to work to make a positive difference to the health of my colleagues, and look forward to collaborating with colleagues to impact system level changes to support this. I used to feel like a lone voice with my message to improve physician health, but am truly excited that this area has now attracted the attention of many other dedicated colleagues who are adding knowledge, research, education and leadership to reinforce the goal. [After all,] healthy physicians lead to healthy patients and populations.


[If I had the power to change one thing in today’s Canadian Healthcare System,] my magic wand would eliminate the stigma of mental illness. Those requiring help would feel comfortable and confident in reaching out for resources when they need, without the risk of judgment or consequence. Oh, and may I have a second magic wand that would increase our current limited supply of mental health resources to match the need?”



69 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page