top of page
  • Writer's picturehumansinhealthcare

Dr. Sarah Fraser


Dr. Fraser is a General Practitioner in rural Nova Scotia. She is a physician for university students and also works in the fields of sexual health, mental health and addictions. Finally, she works as a hospitalist, caring for inpatients. For more information, visit www.sarahfrasermd.com


"The variety that each day brings is stimulating and boredom is completely impossible.

Writing is another passion of mine. In med school, I wrote the book Humanity

Emergency, a collection of medically-themed poetry reflecting on life and lessons in

medicine. Through blogging about medicine, I’m able to reach a wide audience and

spark interesting conversations.


In the addiction medicine clinic where I work, I prescribe opioid replacement therapy

(methadone and buprenorphine-naloxone) for patients with opioid use disorder. These

are life-saving medications and they can help patients in incredible ways. One of my

patients, who was previously unemployed and using IV drugs, recently told me that she

is enrolled in a professional trades program. “I feel like I’m getting my life back” is one of

the most inspiring statements I can hear.


As for what the future brings, I’d like to publish another book of poetry, learn Mandarin

and create a podcast. I want to have a chronically organized home (Marie Kondo-style).

My broader aspirations are to inspire societal change, recognizing that this can be done

on-the-daily by advocating for individual patients. To sum it up, I want the world and its

people to thrive.


Though we have a public health care system in Canada, poverty is a major barrier in

patients not receiving care. Many of us in the field of health are uncomfortably familiar

with situations where patients must decide between paying for medications versus food

or rent. In my opinion, eradicating poverty would have the biggest impact on improving

health."




110 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page