top of page
  • Writer's picturehumansinhealthcare

Mustansir Diwan

Mustansir Diwan is a research coordinator in a preclinical neuromodulation lab at the Sunnybrook Research Institute in Toronto. The lab focuses on developing new methods for modifying neural function to treat neurological and psychiatric disorders, such as traumatic brain injury and post-traumatic stress disorder.


"I get to work with some of the most dedicated and inspiring people I know. I feel content that I can contribute, even if in a minute way, in developing a deeper understanding of the most complex organ in the human body, the brain.


My primary role is to coordinate all the ongoing studies and projects in our lab and ensure they are done with the utmost efficiency and accuracy. Also, I manage the overall lab, including purchasing supplies, ensuring policy compliance, and providing technical expertise on wet lab and behavioural testing protocols.


My professional interest lies in understanding the changes in neurochemistry and behaviour that occur in various neuropsychiatric disorders. I am also interested in microbiology and infectious diseases, especially the ones that affect the brain.


An impactful moment in my career was when I worked on a particular project for a few years to further investigate a relatively novel treatment for severe clinical depression in preclinical models. It was exciting to be part of that study but also involved a lot of improvisation, new skillset, and a significant amount of labour and long working hours for months in a row for me and my new PI at the time. The effort eventually paid off and resulted in a publication that had a significant impact on neuroscience research. The knowledge gained from the study was soon applied to optimize the parameters and targets for the treatment already being used in humans.


To see that work being directly applied to combat one of the most debilitating neuropsychiatric disorders in humans was a memorable moment and reaffirmed my confidence in the importance of preclinical models in neuroscience research.

At some point in the future a goal of mine would be to investigate the biological basis of empathy through preclinical behavioural models and understand the neural circuits that play a role in pro-social behaviour.


The one change I would implement is to cover all essential prescription medication for all ages under a federal plan instead of having the existing patchwork of private and provincial coverage. The fact that there are many Canadians who cannot afford the medication they need because of lack of sufficient coverage, and sometimes have to skip or share their medication is unfortunate and needs to change."



88 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page