top of page
  • Writer's picturehumansinhealthcare

Neelam Patel


Neelam Patel is a first year student at the State University of New York College of Optometry, in New York City. She is also a trained dancer, and uses her passion for dance to maintain balance in professional and personal endeavours.


"With any healthcare profession or graduate program, there is so much to learn - after all people’s health, well-being and lives are in our hands (or will be). As a student, it can be easy to feel overwhelmed or suffocated trying to balance becoming the best doctor, while taking care of yourself. As I work my way through school, I hope to inspire other students to make time for themselves and balance a healthy lifestyle as they learn and grow into the best doctors they can become.


After a long week of classes and exams, I try and schedule an upbeat dance class to have an outlet completely outside of school. The high cardio movement, positive environment and upkeep with my passion keeps me refreshed and ready to work hard at school. When you feel at your best, you can provide the best care to your patients."




86 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page